My View of Journalism and Creative Writing

Journalism and Creative writing are two mainly different things. I am quite captivated by how intricate creative writers describe each word of their texts, and utterly impressed by how journalists can broaden the way of thinking of the people with such great influence they pass on the masses.

I claim myself as a creative writer. The past me once wrote,

“I used to despise journalism. The studies I had about it explains why it’s so boring. Aye, I can feel you protesting in your mind right now…”

“The reason behind it is I’m really into creative writing. Poetry has my heart. I write things from the story- factory in my head. In other words, I like to make stories, not narrate truths. I still don’t know the formula on how to write an article, I’m confused by what to do.”

This is my self- explanation when I was trying to join the school paper. It took me months to do a lot of adapting to change, but it’s totally worth it. You may as well be confused and frustrated right now as I am. Listen, don’t over think it. But I have a few definitions of journalism and creative writing here so you won’t be that confused.

What is journalism?

The American Press Institute defined it as “the activity of gathering, assessing, creating, and presenting news and information, and the product of these activities.”

“Journalism can be distinguished from other activities and products by certain identifiable characteristics and practices. These elements not only separate journalism from other forms of communication, they are what make it indispensable to democratic societies. History reveals that the more democratic a society, the more news and information it tends to have.”

What is Creative Writing?

According to literaturewales.org, “creative writing is most popularly understood to be writing that comes from the imagination, writing that is ‘not true‘. Creative writing is the very fine art of making things up, in the most attractive, apt and convincing way possible. It’s the telling of lies in order to reveal illuminating and dark truths about the world and our place in it. We tend to think of Poetry, Fiction, and Plays.”

Of course, we have our own opinions and that we must follow what our hearts beat for. If you’re good at gathering and presenting data whether by writing or by speech, then go for journalism. But if you can elaborate words with complex details and make a lot of stuff up, you would be better as a creative writer. So if you’re having a hard time making a choice, it will be best if you take a look in the mirror and ask the person in front of you. Would you be fit as a journalist? Or a creative writer?

At the end of the day, it will always be about our choices. We are going to be the ones who create our own destinies. In a more creative tone, we will always be the ones who write our own stories.

m

(Image by Ann He)

Leave a Reply

